All posts by Thomas Kaiser

At the mercy of the elements…

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(>Pictures at the bottom!)

….back to eastern Iceland
Iceland’s location in the middle of the Atlantic has a great influence on the weather. When the sun is shining, a storm can blow up within a few minutes and amounts of water can fall from the sky that others can only dream of. Snow can fall at any time. But the opposite can also be the case; after heavy rain, the sun can peek out from behind some peak as if nothing had happened. If a weather alarm is issued, you notice it immediately; no Icelander goes out of the house unless it is absolutely necessary; …unless the tourists are still cruising around the country! Read More

The “golden donkey”…

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(>Pictures at the bottom!)

…on the road in southwestern Iceland.
The south-western corner of Iceland is where most of the country’s inhabitants live, and it is probably also where the majority of visitors travel through the country. The trump card of this part of the country is almost obvious: here you can see almost everything that makes Iceland so special. Besides active volcanoes, there are glaciers, an almost uncountable number of waterfalls and landscapes as if the earth had been created a few hours ago. The Icelanders understand the golden business of tourism: everything is a bit more expensive here than in the other parts of the country and there is some kind of fee for a lot of things. But there are information boards in different languages everywhere and nothing is left to chance. It’s actually amazing what so few inhabitants do and organise for their guests. Read More

…and the dear technology

(The information is listed consecutively and contains some very interesting details. Just scroll through for more details).

September 8, 2021 / Front axle right, axle ball joints failed / Iceland, on the south coast.
When changing the wheels – in an off-road vehicle you change the wheels at regular intervals – I noticed a lot of axle ball joints play on the right front.
Whether the worn out joint was caused by the many tracks in Iceland and whether the original material of our Jeep is not as good as the manufacturer claims, we would like to leave up in the air. However, the fact that we have often pointed out a cracking noise in the steering to different authorised workshops within the warranty period; these are facts, but we were always told that there were no problems at all with the front axle and that a certain amount of play was absolutely normal. Read More

Solitude…

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(>Pictures at the bottom!)

….against the highlands and in the northwest (Westfjords) of Iceland.
The north coast and the Westfjords are very sparsely populated areas. Sheep and horse breeding is practised on the coastal strips and in the long valleys, and a few dairy farmers complete the picture. In the few towns on the coast, everything revolves around fishing, or what is left of all fishing. Fishing must be in deep crisis here, and a huge transformation process is leaving deep scars in the rural coastal villages. But the farmers are also feeling the effects of the drop in prices for their products and the cost gap is widening more and more to the disadvantage of the producers. In addition to many former fishing businesses, countless farms are disintegrating or about to be abandoned.
In a chance conversation with a farmer who breeds horses – Icelanders eat their horses too – he estimated that the price of his products has fallen by 40% in the last 10 years; and at the same time, expenses have risen dramatically. Many give up because of this, the next generation no longer wants to work in agriculture and migrates.
If you drive a few kilometres inland, the human settlements become fewer and fewer. The many sheep grazing somewhere in the meadows enjoy their independent summer life and are herded in by the farmers before autumn, or the first snowfall; otherwise there is – apart from a lot of nature – nothing far and wide! Read More

Fire and ice…

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(>Pictures at the bottom!)

…hurray, we are in Iceland

In terms of geological history, Iceland is a fairly young island, and human traces have only been found there for just over 1500 years. Today, around 350,000 inhabitants live on this island, which is about 2½ times the size of Switzerland, with most of them living in the south-western corner. Therefore, Iceland is also one of the most sparsely populated areas on earth and there are huge stretches of land where there really is not a soul to be found. The various volcanic activities, but also the drifting apart of the European and American continental plates, make us humans amazed again and again at what is going on here directly under the earth and has already caused a few surprises. Read More

Winch Warn / replacement synthetic rope

7 July 2021 (before departure to Iceland)

After about one and a half years, the Warn synthetic rope on the drum was so frayed that it had to be replaced. The fraying occurred only after the 10/11 turn, i.e. immediately after the thermal protection. Most of the fibres were destroyed and would no longer have withstood the possible pulling force of the winch. Read More

Going to Iceland

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(>Pictures at the bottom!)

It was a bit annoying when a stomach flu put me (Tom) to bed one day before our departure. Although everything was ready, there are usually many little things that have to be done before departure that can hardly be done beforehand or have been forgotten. So in the end Chantal had to lug the heavy luggage to the jeep and stow it in it, while I lay hunched in bed hoping for a quick recovery. Since we had opted for the motorail train for the trip to Hamburg, another departure day was not possible and so we – Chantal with her lifeless husband – went on a short farewell tour. The jeep was quickly up on the transport wagon in the Lörrach goods station and I (Tom) was even more quickly horizontal in the sleeper compartment. Read More

Tour de Suisse…

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator
(>Pictures at the bottom!)

….once around our country!
At the beginning of May, the time had finally come again; we set off once more. No, not on the big tour around the world. Due to the pandemic, we were still only allowed to take small leaps. But after five and a half months in the asylum, every little tour was a relief from the standstill. Especially since we wanted to test all the new parts we had installed and find out where we could add a small improvement. Read More

A forced break makes everything new!

>Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

At the beginning of 2021, we again had the opportunity (Corona pandemic) to do the piled-up work on our Jeep in our home workshop at our leisure.

At the top of the wish list was the modification of the rear door, where we want to change the heavy weight of the spare wheel (40 kg) and the additional rack above the spare wheel to a separate support.

We also had to carry out minor repairs and replace certain parts.

Read More

Alle Artikel von Thomas Kaiser

Den Elementen ausgeliefert…

>Bilder ganz unten!

….zurück zum östlichen Island
Die isländische Lage mitten im Atlantik hat einen grossen Einfluss auf das Wettergeschehen. Bei Sonnenschein kann innert wenigen Minuten ein Sturm aufziehen und Wassermengen vom Himmel fallen, von denen andere nur träumen können. Schneefall kann jederzeit möglich sein. Aber auch das Gegenteil kann der Fall sein; nach Starkregen kann die Sonnen hinter irgendeinem Gipfel hervor lachen, als wäre nichts gewesen. Wird ein Wetteralarm ausgegeben, so merkt man dies sofort; kein Isländer geht aus dem Haus, wenn es nicht unbedingt notwendig ist; …ausser die Touristen kurven noch im Land herum! Weiterlesen

Der „goldene Esel“…

>Bilder ganz unten!

…im südwestlichen Island unterwegs.
In der südwestlichen Ecke von Island wohnen die meisten Bewohner und hier reisen vermutlich ebenso der grösste Teil der Besucher durchs Land. Der Trumpf dieses Landesteil liegt fast auf der Hand: Hier sieht man eigentlich fast alles, was Island so speziell macht. Nebst aktiven Vulkanen, gibt es Gletscher, eine fast unzählbare Menge an Wasserfällen und Landschaften, als sei die Erde vor wenigen Stunden erschaffen worden. Die Isländer verstehen das goldene Geschäft mit dem Tourismus: Alles ist hier etwas teurer als in den anderen Landesteilen und für vieles fällt irgendeine Gebühr an. Dafür stehen wirklich überall Informationstafeln in verschiedenen Sprachen und es wird nichts dem Zufall überlassen. Eigentlich wahnsinnig, was so wenig Einwohner für ihre Gäste machen und organisieren. Weiterlesen

…und die liebe Technik

(Die Infos sind fortlaufend aufgeführt und enthalten z.T. sehr interessante Details. Einfach durch scrollen für mehr Details.)

8. September 2021 / Achsschenkellager vorne rechts ausgeschlagen / Island, an der Südküste

Beim Umsetzten der Räder – bei einem Geländewagen setzt man die Räder in regelmässigen Abständen um – stellte ich an der Vorderachse rechts grosses Lagerspiel am Achsschenkel fest.
Ob das ausgeschlagene Lager von den vielen Pisten in Island her kam und das Originalmaterial von unserem Jeep doch nicht so gut ist wie von Hersteller behauptet wird, möchten wir einmal im Raum stehen lassen. Dass wir jedoch schon öfters innerhalb der Garantiezeit unterschiedliche Vertragswerkstätten auf ein Knackgeräusch an der Lenkung hinwiesen; das sind Fakten, doch wir wurden jedes Mal vertröstet, dass es überhaupt keine Probleme an der Vorderachse gebe und gewisses Spiel absolut normal sei. Weiterlesen

Einsamkeit…

>Bilder ganz unten!

….erneut im Hochland und im Nordwesten (Westfjorde) von Island
Die Nordküste als auch die Westfjorde sind sehr dünn besiedelte Gebiete. An den Küstenstreifen und in den langgezogenen Tälern wird Schaf- und Pferdezucht betrieben und wenige Milchbauern runden das Bild ab. In den wenigen Orten an der Küste dreht sich alles um den Fischfang, oder was von der ganzen Fischerei übrig geblieben ist. Die Fischerei muss hier in einer tiefen Krise stecken und ein gewaltiger Umwandlungsprozess lässt in den ländlichen Küstenorte tiefe Spuren hinter sich. Aber auch bei den Bauern macht sich der Preiszerfall für ihre Erzeugnisse bemerkbar und die Kostenschere öffnet sich immer mehr zu Ungunsten der Produzenten. Nebst viele ehemalige Fischereibetriebe zerfallen auch unzählige Bauernhöfe oder stehen kurz vor der Aufgabe.

Weiterlesen

Feuer und Eis…

>Bilder ganz unten!

…hurra, wir sind in Island

Erdgeschichtlich ist Island eine recht junge Insel, und erst seit etwas mehr als 1500 Jahren sind dort menschliche Spuren zu finden. Heute leben auf dieser Insel, die in der Fläche etwa 2½ Mal der Schweiz entspricht, rund 350‘000 Einwohner, wobei der grösste Teil in der südwestlichen Ecke zu Hause ist. Daher ist Island auch eines der dünnst besiedelten Gebiete der Erde und es gibt riesige Landstriche, wo wirklich keine Menschenseele zu finden ist. Die verschiedenen vulkanischen Tätigkeiten, aber auch das Auseinanderdriften der europäischen und amerikanischen Kontinentalplatte lassen uns Menschen immer wieder erstaunen, was hier unmittelbar unter der Erde vor sich geht und schon für ein paar Überraschungen sorgte. Weiterlesen

Seilwinde Warn / Ersatz Synthetikseil

7.Juli 2021 (vor Abreise nach Island)

Nach rund anderthalb Jahren war das aufgezogene Synthetikseil von Warn auf der Trommel dermassen ausgefranst, dass dieses ersetzt werden musste. Die Ausfransung trat erst nach der 10/11 Windung auf, d.h. unmittelbar nach dem Wärmeschutz. Der grösste Teil der Fasern war zerstört und hätte der möglichen Zugkraft der Winde nicht mehr standgehalten. Weiterlesen

Auf nach Island

>Bilder ganz unten!

Es war schon etwas ärgerlich als mich (Tom) eine Magen-Darmgrippe einen Tag vor unserer Abreise ins Bett legte. Obwohl alles bereit war, müssen in der Regel vor einer Abreise noch viele Kleinigkeiten erledigt werden, die man vorher kaum tun kann oder vergessen wurden. So musste schlussendlich Chantal die schweren Gepäckstücke zum Jeep schleppen und in diesem verstauen, während ich gekrümmt im Bett lag und auf schnelle Besserung hoffte. Da wir uns für die Reise nach Hamburg für den Autoreisezug entschieden hatten, war ein anderer Abreisetag nicht möglich und so ging es – Chantal mit ihrem leblosen Mann – auf eine kurze Abschiedstour. Der Jeep war im Lörracher Güterbahnhof schnell oben auf dem Transportwagen und ich (Tom) noch schneller im Schlafwagenabteil in der Horizontalen. Weiterlesen

Tour de Suisse…

>Bilder ganz unten!

….einmal um unser Land!
Anfangs Mai war es endlich wieder soweit; wir starteten erneut durch. Nein, nicht auf die grosse Runde um die Welt. Pandemiebedingt durften wir weiterhin nur kleine Sprünge wagen. Doch nach fünfeinhalb Monaten im Asyl war für uns jede noch so kleine Tour eine gewisse Erlösung vom Stillstand. Zumal wir alle neue verbauten Teile testen wollten und herausfinden, wo wir noch eine kleine Verbesserung hinzufügen könnten. Weiterlesen

Zwangspause macht alles neu!

Anfangs 2021 hatten wir wieder die Möglichkeit (Corona-Pandemie), die angestauten Arbeiten an unserem Jeep in der heimatlichen Werkstatt in aller Ruhe zu erledigen.

Ganz oben auf der Wunschliste stand die Änderung an der Hecktür, wo wir das schwere Gewicht des Ersatzrades (40 Kg) und des zusätzlichen Racks oberhalb des Reserverades auf eine getrennte Abstützung umgebaut werden soll.

Ebenfalls standen erneut kleinere Reparaturen und der Tausch gewisser Teile an.

Weiterlesen